How many oceans are there?

National Geographic recognizes four oceans–Arctic, Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific.
Southern Ocean: The Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific Oceans merge into icy waters around Antarctica. Some define this as an ocean, calling it the Antarctic Ocean, Austral Ocean, or Southern Ocean. While most accept four oceans, including the Arctic, there is no international agreement on the name and extent of a fifth ocean.

Still need help?